Cyprus History through the Ages -

   People & Life
   Arts & Culture
   Flight & Hotel Booking
   Flora & Fauna
   What's New?
   Site Information

  Flights to Northern Cyprus and North Cyprus Hotels
  Hotel Sempati, Kyrenia, North Cyprus
  Northern Cyprus Holidays, Kyrenia Hotels, North Cyprus Package Holidays, Online Booking
  Crasemann Landscape Architecture and Garden Design
  Almond Holiday Village - North Cyprus holidays
  Book your car rentals in North Cyprus online
  North Cyprus Villas



Chronological History of Cyprus
c.8,500 - 8,000 BC - Hunter Gatherers in Cyprus

7,000 - 5,300 BC - The first settlers: the Khirokitians 
4,000 - 2,500 BC - Chalcolitic (Copper) Age: stone crucifix pendants are carved 
2,700 - 1,600 BC - Cypriot Bronze Ages, Early and Middle: cattle, horses, and bronze making are introduced as well as highly individual pottery style
1,600 - 1,050 BC -
The Late Bronze Age: period of sophisticated literate city states such as Enkomi-Alasia and Kition
1,500 - 1,450 BC - Hittite rule in Cyprus
1,450 - 1,000 BC - Beginning of the Egyptian domination of the island 

1,200 - 1,000 BC - Establishment of the city states of Salamis (capital at the time), Soli, Marion, Paphos, Kurium, and Kyrenia; arrival of Greek colonies

1,000 - 850 BC - Iron Age - Cypro-Geometric Period.
The coming of Iron, the Dorians and a Dark Age also known as Cypro-Geometric I and II

850 - 750 BC - Iron Age - Cypro-Geometric Period.
The Phoenician led Renaissance and Assyrian rule on the island.

750 - 475 BC - Iron Age - Cypro-Archaic Period.
Time of the city-kingdoms despite the island being ruled by a succession of foreign countries for much of the period (Assyrians, from 709 BC; Egyptians, from c.570 BC; and Persians, from 545 BC)
568 - 525 BC - Egyptian domination
525 - 333 BC - Iron Age - Cypro-Classical Period
This period sees the Persian occupation and the rule of the island and the duel between the city kingdoms of Kition and Salamis.
333 - 58 BC - Hellenistic rule
During this period the heirs of the Alexander the Great rule Cyprus

58 BC - 395 AD - Roman Empire ruling Cyprus:
350 years of quiet provincial prosperity

395 - 649 - Island becomes a part of the Byzantine Empire when Cyprus is gradually converted from paganism to Orthodox Christianity (Early Byzantine period)
649 - 965 - A second Dark Age
The island is caught on the frontier between the two warring empires of Byzantium and Islam

965 - 1191 - Late Byzantine Period
This period sees the return of the island to Byzantium

1191 - 1192 - Rule of the island by Richard I (the Lionheart), of England and later by the Knights Templars
1192 - 1489 - Lusignan Period
Rule of the island by the Frankish Lusignan dynasty

1489 - 1570 - Venetian domination of Cyprus
1571 - 1878 - Ottoman Rule
Conquest and rule of the island by the Ottoman Empire  
1878 - 1925 - Ottoman Land - British Administration
In accordance with a defence-alliance between Britain and the Ottoman Empire, the administration of Cyprus passes to Britain
1925 - 1960 - British Crown Colony
Cyprus is annexed by Britain when Ottoman Empire enters into the World War I on the side of Germany; subsequently the island becomes a crown colony and under the British rule
1960 - Foundation of the Republic of Cyprus
Turkish-Cypriot and Greek-Cypriot communities declare the independent Republic of Cyprus, guaranteed by Britain, Greece and Turkey, based on the London and Zürich Agreements.
1963 - Inter-communal violence
Inter-communal strife in Cyprus and the subsequent collapse of the constitutional rule

1974 - Coup d'état by the Greek army officers stationed on the island to overthrow the President (Makarios) with the aim of uniting the island with Greece; subsequent Turkish Military intervention (under the provisions of the Treaty of Guarantee of the Republic of Cyprus)

1974 - Division of the island into Turkish-Cypriot North and Greek-Cypriot South
1975 - Declaration of the Turkish Federated State of Cyprus, to pave way for a federal settlement on the island
1983 - Foundation of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus
1990 - The 'Republic of Cyprus' (effectively the Greek-Cypriot South Cyprus) applied for full membership to the EU on 4th July 1990. This application was made without the consent of the Turkish-Cypriot Community as was required by the 1960 Constitution of the 'Republic of Cyprus'.  
2002-3 - Dialogue and negotiations between Denktash & Klerides to unify the North & South before EU entry 
2003 - Borders Open
After 30 years borders open between North and South Cyprus on 23 April 2003, following the Turkish-Cypriot Authorities ease the border restrictions.

2004 - Twin-Referendums on uniting the island under the UN Annan's Plan - accepted by Turkish-Cypriots, but rejected by Greek-Cypriots. Island (effectively Greek-Cypriot Southern Cyprus) becomes a member of the EU. 

Turkish Cypriot Cuisine



AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Advertise Here on North Cyprus Home Page

Guide to hotels and holidays in N. Cyprus

Kyrenia Castle Rent-a-Car, North Cyprus

Ercan Airport Taxis, North Cyprus



©  1994-2014